New Music: Nosaj Thing by guest blogger Nicole Cifani

June 17, 2009 § Leave a comment

nosajthing

I grabbed this post from my friend Nicole’s awesome blog which you should check out HERE. Nicole is a music guru, writer, blogger and works with KCRW FM. One of my favorite portals for music and technology information.I had been meaning to write about Nosaj Thing (which has not stopped playing in my itunes for a week now) but I enjoyed her post and thought it was a good intro on this hot new artist. Ps  – Catch him live at Low End Theory in LA on July 17 or at The Roxy in LA on July 24

(Cribbed from http://www.nicolecifani.com/)
For this year’s Coachella Music Festival – a holiday of sorts for Los-Angelenos in the music industry – I chose to forgo the long lines, blistering heat and nutty ravers to spend a weekend of leisure in the desert area. And of course hit some pool parties along the way.

I think the decision to sit this years’ fest out was a blessing in disguise. I encountered many up-and-comers at these little parties – too small to hit the festival circuit, but absolutely rockin’ nonetheless.

When I returned to LA a couple of DJ friends at KCRW asked if I had managed to see any good acts. Nosaj Thing immediately came to mind. His glitchy, dub-step, sampled electro groove had the Imeem/Indieoasis party rockin’ and I was transfixed. It was truly amazing to watch someone so young and forward thinking totally kill it. I can’t wait to see what he does next.

The album dropped Tuesday on Alpha Pup Records.

(ed note)

Check out Nosaj Thing on myspace: http://www.myspace.com/nosajthing
Or pick up the album at one of these retailers: CD | iTunes | Bleep | Boomkat | Addictech | Amazon

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Music: Nosaj Thing by guest blogger Nicole Cifani at Sounds Defy Gravity.

meta

