Tim Haslett I miss you. (and I know so many others do too.)

March 2, 2009 § 3 Comments

We miss you, Tim

We miss you, Tim

A Dedication: This blog comes as a result of my own need to collaborate and discuss music with others (a combination of electronic music obsession and open-source philosophy.) But the motivation to sit down and write.. share experiences with music that go beyond personal needs to write come from one specific person who taught me more about music than anyone else: Tim Haslett.

I want to launch this site with the love and positive intention that Tim Haslett gave to so many people. He taught me (and so many others) to SHARE the love of music freely despite the (cutthroat and sometimes jealous) climate of the Boston / New York DJ circuit. Tim was an inspiration to thousands through his writing for CMJ, XLR8R and he was a human DISCOGS at DJ record shops such as Biscuithead (Boston), Boston Beat and Other Music. Lastly his presence as a jock on WZBC FM Boston is still greatly felt in the station’s diversity of music. (WZBC, for the record, is the coolest station, period.)

Last March we sadly lost Tim to the (musically-inspired and gifted) heavens. So many people I know were heartbroken to lose him. So many of us have been deeply inspired by his writing, his ideas, his passion of underground dance music, and mostly for me his ability to see above the social aspects of music and just get downright excited with you about that special beat you had never heard before. I will always remember Tim and hope to carry his knowledge on to others through this blog, my music and in my life.

For friends of tim here are some very kind words on Tim from our friends: WZBC, DJ C, Benny Blanco, David Day, Pullquote

R.I.P., Tim. Or rather I hope you are bopping to some cerwin vega 15’s and crankin the best baltimore bass nobody has ever heard. <3 & respect.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Tim Haslett I miss you. (and I know so many others do too.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tim Haslett I miss you. (and I know so many others do too.) at Sounds Defy Gravity.

meta

